Seed boxes – gee they can hold a LOT of seeds!

Seed boxes – gee they can hold a LOT of seeds!

My main seed store is in a sturdy box, similar size to a shoe box.

This one takes the smaller packets easily. I often recycle envelopes to store seeds and they are a little wide so I fold the end over to make them fit.

I find the colored dividers really help me find the type of seeds I want when I am ready to re-plant – it is much easier to find things or otherwise I end up with a large pile of random packets. I love saving seeds and – gee the pile of packets grows amazingly fast.

Another of my seed boxes:

Seed box for beans etc
Seed box for beans etc

This one is from a cut-down ordinary cardboard box which is just the right size to fit old envelopes easily. Its sticky-taped up to keep it together. Sometimes the ordinary old boxes fit better than nice new ones.

I use this one for storing beans etc still in their pods – I usually get round to opening the pods when I want to replant seed next season so this works fine for me.

And brown paper lunch bags are great too. Lettuce seeds can dry on the branches I have put into the bags in large chunks.

20161003_152522

Then, to sow the seeds next season, I wander around the garden and shake a branch dropping seeds here and there – I call it ‘imitating nature’ and pretend the wind has blown seeds from the plant. Many grow, many don’t – a lettuce plant grows a LOT of seeds so there are plenty for us, for the ants, for everything.

[PS: if you save seeds longer than 1 year, especially beans and peas, weevils can happily chomp the lot and leave nothing to re-plant. So putting seeds in the freezer for a few days is a recommended tactic to foil them]

[PPS: Other pests also love seeds – rats, mice etc can eat the lot if they are accessible. We store seeds in a spare room inside the house. If you store seeds in a shed or garage, hang them so they are not accessible to rodents. Or, when dry, store in a rodent-proof container]

 

Leave a Reply

